cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Marie_Peze
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi!

I’m new to formulas, and I can’t figure that one out, even though I’m sure it’s pretty simple.
I’ve got a table with a multiple select field, and I’d like to know at a glance how many of these multiple selects were selected in each row, so I’m making a formula field COUNTA ({name of multiple select field}) but all it does is tell me 1 if there’s something in there, and 0 if there’s nothing. It doesn’t count how many items I’ve selected. Can anybody help me find the right formula? Many thanks in advance!

14 Replies 14

The COUNTA() function seems to only work in Rollup fields, which seem to be the only fields that treat arrays as arrays proper, rather than strings.

Your Multiple Select field is outputting a comma separated string of the values in it when passed to a formula field. Example:

A multi-select field

The multi-select field as output to a formula field

Since that is a string with commas between each value, we can use string functions to “count commas” to figure out how many options were selected in the Multiple Select field. We can do that by finding the length of the string, and then removing all the commas from the string and finding it’s length without commas, finding the difference between the two lengths (ie, how many commas there were), and then adding 1 to the result, since there is always 1 less comma than there are values in the list:

image.png

The formula:

IF(
   Publications,
   LEN(Publications) - 
   LEN(
      SUBSTITUTE(
         Publications,
         ",",
         ""
      )
   ) + 1
)
Expatica_Team
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator