cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bobby_Gay
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Dear Community,
I’m new to Airtable. I have a table that includes parts and tasks. In other words, if Task 1 includes 5 different parts each record will have a value of “Task 1”. The same is true for parts associated with Task 2.

What I’m trying to accomplish can be done in Google Sheets using a Query function, but I’ve not figured out how to do this in Airtable. When our company makes a sale of a new Air Conditioning system, there is a product description list from which the sales person makes a selection.

Examples:
3.0 ton Complete Gas System HVAC and Furnace - 14 SEER
3.0 ton Complete Gas System HVAC and Furnace - 16 SEER
3.5 ton Complete Gas System HVAC and Furnace - 14 SEER
3.5 ton Complete Gas System HVAC and Furnace - 16 SEER, etc.

Each product has a list of Parts and the appropriate Quantity(s) to deliver the job. So, if the first product is selected, there may be 10 parts related to that product - all of which have the same product name in each of those records. The goal is to produce a picklist of those 10 parts so our purchasing team can order the correct parts for the installation team to use upon delivery.

How should I set things up so that the user can select from the list of products we offer (either as a single-select field or a lookup). Once the product is selected, the appropriate parts and quantities are shown.

I appreciate any ideas any of you can offer.

2 Replies 2

Hi Bobby, I’ve put something together here that I think does what you need

Pick List

This setup will handle having multiple products of differing quantities per sale, where each product is composed of different parts and different quantities of each part.

Consider the following sale:

1. 2 x Product 1
  • Product 1 consists of:
    • 3 x Item 1
    • 2 x Item 2
    • 10 x Item 3

The final packing list will be:

• 6 x Item 1
  • 4 x Item 2
  • 20 x Item 3