Help

Re: Formula that checks the most recent of several dates?

941 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sofia_Linse
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi!

I’m new to Airtable and conditional formulas in general. I have a an airtable where I want to return a “Not Recently Scheduled” if a customer did not schedule an appointment with my company within the past 2 months, and “Recently scheduled” if they did. Previously scheduled appointments are recorded in another airtable, and I have added a lookup to this new table that pulls the dates of these previous appointments (if any) in a column called “Previous sessions”.

Does anyone know how to accomplish this? I have checked out a couple of instructions but I struggle to make it work. I haven’t found a guide where the formula only checks the most recent of several recorded dates, and I also haven’t figured out if I can check the last 2 months from the date in which a person checks the airtable, without having this date stated anywhere.

Let me know if it’s unclear what I try to accomplish and I’ll try to describe it in another way. Thank you!

5 Replies 5

Hi @Sofia_Linse - when you say “in another airtable” I assume you mean in another table, rather than another base?

Instead of having a lookup field, which will show all linked appointment dates you can use a rollup field to show the most recent. I might have these tables:

Screenshot 2020-04-28 at 17.25.22

Screenshot 2020-04-28 at 17.25.28

As you can see, my “people” table includes a rollup for the date fields from the appointments table:

Screenshot 2020-04-28 at 17.27.07

I’ve then got a formula field which shows whether the most recent appointment date is within 60 days or more than 60 days ago:

IF(DATETIME_DIFF(TODAY(), {Last Appt Date}, 'days') < 60, 'Recently scheduled', 'Not recently scheduled')

JB

Hi @JonathanBowen, thank you so much for helping me out! Yes - I’m referring to another table - still learning the vocabulary.