cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Harpal_Shergill
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Dear community,

I am new to airtable and would like your assistance on best practice on how to consume a json file and use linked relations within the airtables.

i have a json file with structure like this:

[
       {
          "title":"first title",
          "publicationDate":"2021-02-02",
          "geo":[
             {
                "country":"US",
                "lat":45,
                "lon":55
             },
             {
                "country":"UK",
                "lat":65,
             }
          ]
       },
       {
          "title":"sec title",
          "publicationDate":"2021-02-02",
          "geo":[
             {
                "country":"BR",
                "lat":4,
                "lon":5
             },
             {
                "country":"UK",
                "lat":65,
             }
          ]
       }
    ]

Ideally I would like to have two tables: Pub and Geo. When inserting the above resultset data should get loaded to pub with 2 entries and geo table with 3 entries.

is this possible using API? any example or directions on this would be appriciated.
or
do I need to create an attachment field (for json) first in airtable and then use the logic to split data into multiple table?

Thank you in advance for your help.

3 Replies 3
Raminder_Singh
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hi @Harpal_Shergill, this is definitely doable using the API. You do not need to create an attachment field first. You can look in this thread for some guidance on how to create a linked record. For you reference, the REST api is documented here.

Hope this helps.
-Raminder

Harpal_Shergill
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Thanks @Raminder_Singh ! I check the thread link.

So the steps would be like this?:

1. Create empty table pub and geo
  2. Using API populate geo table first