cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
martincilio
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi,
I am new to Airtable, but hopefully it makes sense what I am trying to achieve. 
I am creating a product database that will include product name and it´s ingredients. I want to be able to tell if a product is vegan friendly, not vegan, or unknown based on the ingredient status.
For that, I created a separate table that stores ingredient names as a key and their status (vegan friendly, not vegan, or unknown). Almost each ingredients have synonyms that have to be included, but the synonyms should be treated the same way as the main ingredient (as for the status). So I created another table that stores synonym name as a key and their respective ingredient as a foreign key. 
Back at the Product table, I want to be able to add product ingredients and for Airtable to check the Ingredient list and Synonym list and assign the status for the product (non vegan - if there is at least one non vegan ingredient, vegan if there are no non vegan or unknown ingredients and unknow - if there is at least one unknown ingredients. Ideally, I would like to pull out of the product ingredient list the ingredients by their status. I think I have something missing here. So far I tried: 

1) make a linked record within the Product table that links to Ingredient table. This way I managed to import ingredient list as a string of text separated with comma directly to the record. As the result, the ingredients that existed in the Ingredients table got linked and the others were created as new entries in Ingredients table, although they were synonyms that already existed.