743 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
figuringthingso
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi! I’m new to both Airtable and building databases more generally. I have a question about junction tables.

I’m trying to build a table similar to what is described in this video and on this page. But I’m stuck on a specific thing. I’m trying to build a junction table that contains a record for each association between one of 15 training programs and one of 51 faculty members. The GAP video and the Airtable support page suggest that such a table would have 615 results - one for each intersection between each of the 15 training programs and each of the 51 faculty members. And indeed, when I build my junction table, I get many hundreds of records.

But the thing is, only about 10 or so of the 51 faculty members taught at any given one of the programs. The only way I’ve managed to build a junction table gives me a record for the intersection of each faculty and each program–even ‘false’ intersections between faculty and programs they didn’t teach at. The table that captures the data I really want would only have about 150 records. So how do I build a junction table that omits associations between faculty and the programs the faculty members didn’t teach at?

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the community, @figuringthingsout!

Your junction table is only required to have data for the intersections that ACTUALLY exist, not the intersections that COULD exist.

So, for example, if you only have 15 faculty members who have each taught 1-2 programs, that would be 15-30 records in your junction table.

(Also, keep in mind that not every database system needs a junction table at all. You only need a junction table if you need to keep detailed information about each particular intersection.)

See Solution in Thread

5 Replies 5
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto