cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Daniella_Delato
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hey Airtable, I need your help!!!
I am a Project Manager and we plan for our projects based on the date we start construction.
All tasks that need to be completed are categorized by when we need to complete them, for example, the oven needs to be ordered 3 weeks before construction starts, so “Order Oven” would be under “week -3”.
That “week -3” would have a date assigned to it, relative to the “start date” so the formula would look something like ({startdate}, -3, ‘weeks’). That way, if the “start date” changes, then the rest of the schedule would automatically shift.
I’ve tried to play around but i can’t find a way to do this… please help!!!

10 Replies 10

You are on the right track - I think you may just be forgetting to declare the function you are using:

DATEADD(startdate, -3, 'week')

That formula in a formula field will do what you are wanting, assuming your “Start Construction Date” field is actually called startdate. If not, replace startdate with the name of your field.

The function works, what doesn’t work for me is that now everything on that column will have the same formula… I can’t change the formula for each specific cell, so all my due dates will be the same within that column

I’m having a little trouble visualizing what your table might look like.

If possible, I might be able to help you better if you can duplicate your base (dropdown menu on base icon in your home screen) and uncheck “Duplicate Records” so that your info is not visible in the duplicate. Then create a share link for your duplicated base and paste that share link here.

That will allow me to see your base structure without seeing your records and then I can more easily see what you are wanting to do.

image.png