Help

Re: Tracking history of shipping locations?

1035 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jessica_Blanche
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi,

I am new to Airtable and I am trying to migrate my studio’s crate inventory (crates contain artworks that we ship to museums and then back to us). We used an excel sheet unto which we had a ‘‘history’’ box. That is where we’d manually list all the previous locations with the years of where a specific crate had been shipped before returning to us. Is there a clever/simple way to keep track of such info in Airtable? Like a tab that keeps track of each crate’s previous locations when we update its current location?

I hope this makes sense, thanks y’all!

5 Replies 5

You’d want to track this in a separate table, perhaps called “Shipping Records”.

In your “Crates” table, where all of your crates are listed, you’ll create a Field(column) that is a “Link to Another Record” from the “Shipping Records” table, and allow multiple records:

Every time a crate is shipped to a new location, you’ll create a new “Shipping Record” by clicking the + button in that linked record Field from inside your “Crates” table, and clicking + Add New Record at the bottom of the menu that pops up. That field will display every shipping record associated with that crate, and those shipping records can contain any information you need them to - “To Location”, “From Location”, “Date Shipped”, “Date Arrived”, “Cost”, etc…

Let me know if you need any further help setting that up.

Jessica_Blanche

That sounds exactly like what I need! I’ll give that a try today and let you know if there’s anything else but in the meantime, thank you so much! :heart_eyes: :metal:

It can be a bit of a struggle coming from spreadsheets into Airtable and figuring out how to leverage it’s strengths and work around its shortcomings, since Airtable is much more a database than it is a spreadsheet.