Help

Use of mutiple Air Table accounts

Topic Labels: Collaboration
Solved
Jump to Solution
1133 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sascha1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

I have an Airtable account and so does my client. When they invited me to collaborate on their account it led me into my own account. I can see the collaborators in that company here and can talk to them but now I don't know if what I am creating is in their account or mine. I also want to know if there is a way to toggle between accounts so I can be clear about where I am. 

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AirOps
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hi Sascha! 

Welcome to the Airtable community!

Airtable functions on a workspace billing model, which means that if you were added to your client's workspace or base as a collaborator, you would be working within your client's paid workspace. Even though your account could be a paid seat in multiple paid Airtable workspaces, you will only have one account to access all databases.

Previously, if your client shared individual bases with you, they would appear in a section called "Bases shared with me." However, due to a recent update to Airtable's homepage layout, all shared bases now appear with your other bases. This change is unideal because it can cause undue confusion.  To avoid this, you'll need to keep track of which bases belong to your client. Any changes made in your client's base will be reflected for everyone who has access.

On the other hand, if your client shares their entire workspace, it will appear in the side panel under "All Workspaces." Any changes made in those bases will also be reflected for everyone with access to the workspace. When you add new databases, Airtable will prompt you to choose which workspace you'd like to add it to. By adding it to your client's workspace, the new base will be visible to everyone with access to the workspace, and you can manually add individuals to specific bases if they do not have workspace access. If you add the database to your personal workspace, your clients will not have access to it.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Warm Regards, 

Chantal 

See Solution in Thread

2 Replies 2
AirOps
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Hi Sascha! 

Welcome to the Airtable community!

Airtable functions on a workspace billing model, which means that if you were added to your client's workspace or base as a collaborator, you would be working within your client's paid workspace. Even though your account could be a paid seat in multiple paid Airtable workspaces, you will only have one account to access all databases.

Previously, if your client shared individual bases with you, they would appear in a section called "Bases shared with me." However, due to a recent update to Airtable's homepage layout, all shared bases now appear with your other bases. This change is unideal because it can cause undue confusion.  To avoid this, you'll need to keep track of which bases belong to your client. Any changes made in your client's base will be reflected for everyone who has access.

On the other hand, if your client shares their entire workspace, it will appear in the side panel under "All Workspaces." Any changes made in those bases will also be reflected for everyone with access to the workspace. When you add new databases, Airtable will prompt you to choose which workspace you'd like to add it to. By adding it to your client's workspace, the new base will be visible to everyone with access to the workspace, and you can manually add individuals to specific bases if they do not have workspace access. If you add the database to your personal workspace, your clients will not have access to it.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Warm Regards, 

Chantal 

Sascha1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Thank you Chantal, that is really helpful info.