1648 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Tim_Canete
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi Everybody, I’m new to this community and Airtable. So far, I’m loving the product. Just figuring out how to do things in Airtable. I’m not a computer programmer, but I’ve managed to hack together some fairly complex databases using VBA in MS Access over the years. Trying to get our company’s processes automated and cloud based after getting multiple software companies to unsuccessfully bid to make us custom software (unacceptable in both cost and development time).

First challenge, I wanted to make an automatic invoice generator. Pretty simple idea right? Just about every company has some sort of auto-invoice with basic info such as customer, PO#, and an itemized bill of materials. Since I’m used to Access, I thought it would be as simple as making a form and subform, then spit it out in a custom report. Well after twiddling with Airtable and combing the Airtable community posts for a couple weeks, I realized that it wasn’t going to be as straightforward as I naively thought.

There are a few topics touched upon from the “Ask the community” section, and I didn’t know exactly where to post this, so I’m just going to post it here, and hopefully those that have questions in other posts will find it here.

Some features that I wanted in the base:

1. Order form with order details sub-form, with automatic invoice generator in page designer.
  2. “Smart” auto index number generator with no gaps (no ghost records resulting in gaps in autoindex number field when records are accidentally added and deleted.
  3. Automatic itemized numbering of BOM.
  4. Multi-record calculations to reference previous records, a la “like Excel” :winking_face: .