3725 7
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jeremy_Chu
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi All! I am new to Airtable and have a question.

I am using lookup to pull in values from another table. There are three unique values of low, medium and high. Is there a way to create some sort of formula to pull in all of the unique values into their own column, based off of what is in the column with the lookup function?

The reason why I am asking is because the current lookup column is pulling in each instance of the unique value. So, a cell looks something like “Low, Low, Medium, Low, High, Medium, Low”.

I am looking to simply pull all of the lows into one column, all of the mediums in to another column, and same for highs. I would then probably just hide the column with the lookup function.

I hope this all makes sense! :slightly_smiling_face:

7 Replies 7

One point that’s a little fuzzy with your description is exactly what you want to be in each of the separate Low/Medium/High fields (columns). You say:

…but does that mean

1. ALL instances of each Low/Medium/High are tallied, so that a single Low field (column) entry could be, based on your example, “Low, Low, Low, Low”; i.e. “all of the lows” meaning literally all of the lows? Or
  2. Only one Low/Medium/High entry in each respective field depending on whether or not that choice was selected at least once in the lookup?

The solution will depend on which way you want to go.

If it’s #1, you could write a formula with a bunch of nested SUBSTITUTE functions that progressively strip out the bits you don’t want in each field by replacing them with empty strings. First off, though, it’s important to note that while Airtable displays the Lookup field results as a comma-separated list of items, that’s just for display. If you add a formula field with the following:

{Lookup} & ""

Your example above would output:

LowLowMediumLowHighMediumLow