cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rcrema
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello everyone,

I hope someone can help me with a scripting problem I'm having.  I am a beginner with scripting and have been taking from examples of what others have posted to get this far.  I'd like to have the script find all records in the Enrollment table that match the input variable Students, then update the "SEB Goals 2" field (linked record) with the Goal input variable without replacing the Goal(s) that are in the field already.  This script could update more than one record but would probably never go beyond 3 or 4 records.  I think the problems are in line 23 but am not sure how to fix it.  The code as is did run, but it didn't add a record to the field.  It seems to have deleted everything in the field.  Any help would be appreciated!

Updatelinkfield.PNG
8 Replies 8

Hey @rcrema

I'm a bit tired, so apologies if I'm a bit scattered.
First, I would advise that you change the names of your input variables to be lowercase instead of capitalized.
You'll find that the use of capitalization is reserved for use by other JavaScript conventions. This is why the editor colored your input variable names differently.

This code snippet assumes that you've changed the input variable names to be lowercase.

const config = input.config();
const { students, goal } = config;
const table = base.getTable("Enrollment");

const allStudents = await table.selectRecordsAsync({
    fields: ["Record ID (from Students)"],
  })
  .then((records) => records.records);

const filteredStudents = allStudents.filter((studentRecord) =>
    studentRecord.getCellValueAsString("Record ID (from Students)" === students[0]))
  .map((filteredRecord) => ({
    id: filteredRecord.id,
    "SEB Goals 2": [
      ...filteredRecord.getCellValue("SEB Goals 2"),
      { id: goal },
    ],
  }));

if (filteredStudents) {
  await table.updateRecordsAsync(filteredStudents);
};