cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
clairehunter
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hello!

I am just starting out with AirTable and I am trying to create an automation that when an item is moved to the status "Backorder" (this should happen when the field "B/O Qty" is greater than 0) in my "Open Orders" project, it is then duplicated into another project called "Backorder Clip". Once the order status is not "Backorder" anymore (or the B/O Qty goes to 0), it should be deleted from the "Backorder Clip" project and moved to the "Not Started" status in my "Open Orders" project. I can't seem to figure out exactly how to achieve this. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

1 Reply 1
Sistema_Aotearo
8 - Airtable Astronomer
8 - Airtable Astronomer

It seems like you need 2 sets of automations. Though, I don't have a full grasp on what you're trying to achieve, here's what I came up with from my understanding. Please clarify if I'm not on the right track.

1. Duplicating to "Back Order" Table.

I assume you have the same fields in both your "Backorder Clip" & "Open Orders" tables. I also assume you want to create a new record in the "Open Orders". If you want to just update existing records in "Open Orders" we can also do that but it'll take a few more steps in the automation. I will also assume you have your "Not Started" as a single select and would also want that to auto-change to something like "In Progress".

Trigger: When record matches condition

• Table: [Open Orders]
  • Condition: When "B/O Qty" [>] "0"

Action: Update Record

• Table: "Open Orders"
  • Fields: Status - "In Progress"

Action: Create New Record

• Table: "Backorder Clip"
  • Fields: Any field you want copied. - You'll want to change each to dynamic in the gearbox to the right. Then go through and select all the same fields but from the trigger step.