6953 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jessica_Farrell
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi! I am using an airtable automation to move certain data from the record to a different table, then I would like to automatically delete the record in the original table. Can I take that last step using Automations? I couldn’t figure out how. Apologies if this is well documented, I couldn’t find it though!

Thanks!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kuovonne
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Yes, it is possible to delete a record using a scripting action. I have created automation scripts that delete the triggering record. While scripting as a whole is well documented, there are far more use cases for scripts than example scripts.

(I am also an Airtable consultant, and I am experienced at writing Airtable scripts.)

See Solution in Thread

5 Replies 5

Welcome to the community, @Jessica_Farrell !

Deleting records is not currently supported with the built-in (point-and-click) automation actions. I think it would be really useful for Airtable to add this feature — you might want to suggest it to them by emailing support@airtable.com.

My guess is that you could possibly write a JavaScript for your automation that can delete a record for you. I am not yet proficient in JavaScript, so someone else would have to verify if that is indeed possible.

Alternatively, the way that I currently do this is that I use Integromat to automate the deletion of my records. Integromat is a no-code/low-code way of automating Airtable.

(Note that I am a professional Airtable consultant and a Registered Integromat Partner, and the Integromat link contains my personal referral code.)

kuovonne
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Yes, it is possible to delete a record using a scripting action. I have created automation scripts that delete the triggering record. While scripting as a whole is well documented, there are far more use cases for scripts than example scripts.