1385 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
dre_1
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi there, Im new to airtable and Im having difficulty with formulas in general.

Currently on my table is Name, Date and the Promo

What Im trying to achieve is that every time a new person and the date is added, the person is given a promo based on the date provided

For example
John Doe - Jan 1 2021 - promo 1 (during 1 week of the date)
John Doe - Jan 1 2021 - promo 2 (after 1 week but during 2 weeks of the date)
John Doe - Jan 1 2021 - promo 3 (after 2 weeks but during 3 weeks of the date)

I know this may be difficult which is why Im asking the community for assistance on this part.

Thank you!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Ahh I see, is this sort of what you're looking for?

Screenshot 2023-05-05 at 1.18.18 PM.png

If so, here's a link to the base

And the script used is:

SWITCH(
  DATETIME_DIFF(
    TODAY(),
    Date,
    'weeks'
  ),
  0, 'Promo 1',
  1, 'Promo 2',
  2, 'Promo 3'
)

The idea is to find out how many weeks it's been since the "Date" value, and based on that we'll know which promo they're on, does that make sense?

See Solution in Thread

6 Replies 6

Could you provide specific examples of the values "Promo 1", "Promo 2", and "Promo 3"?  Do you want 3 promo dates to be created every time a new person and date is added? 

Hi! Thank you for replying.

So, every new person (and date) that is added in Airtable is basically a customer who availed our products. The idea is that they have 1 week to avail our promo 1, and 2 weeks to avail our promo 2 and 3 weeks for promo 3 and lastly 4 weeks/1 month for our promo 4.

So, for example (from the pic) as soon as John Doe and the date he availed our product is added, he has a 7days/1 week to avail our promo 1 which makes "Current Promo" field as Promo 1. After a week, the field would now be as Promo 2 and after that week its Promo 3 and so on. 

So far I've only made: