Help

Save the date! Join us on October 16 for our Product Ops launch event. Register here.

Re: Markdown output error in automation

2 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Javier_Plaza_Go
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi guys. 

Im quite new at automations and scripting. 

I have been trying to set a an automation that filters records under specific conditions and then opens an URL contained on a field of that record. I have learnt that this is not possible through Airtable, so im also working through Make to achieve it, but its not being easy for me either. But i have seen another  possible solution: Open it through a clickable link in markdown. 

So im trying to write a script in other to do so. The input is already set up, but when i try with output, it doesnt work. 

This is what i have writen so far: 

Javier_Plaza_Go_0-1728713373574.png

And this is the error i get:

Javier_Plaza_Go_1-1728713407216.png

Could some some help me a little bit?

Thanks. 

6 Replies 6
dilipborad
9 - Sun
9 - Sun

Hello @Javier_Plaza_Go 
First of all you need to know some of the basics of how airtable scripting is works.

There are 2 ways you can run scripts on airtable.
1. Automation scripting block
2. Extension Scripting

An automation's scripting action runs a script in the background of the base. This differs from the Scripting extension, which runs a script in the foreground. For scripts that you would rather run manually, the Scripting extension is the ideal tool.

While you run the Automation script it's run on the Airtable server and the Extension script is run on our browser.

The automation script is run(called) automatically while the extension script always needs to run manually.

There are some limits and advantages to using both of them based on it's use case.
👍

That's only available in the scripting extension; check out the docs here: https://airtable.com/developers/scripting/api/output#markdown