Help

Re: Script to read two dates from record and then create a record for each dates between those dates

1775 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Jack_Tranckle
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello all, I am very new to scripting and trying to find a way to create separate records for all dates within a range of two dates, a start and an end. I found this code online but it is not working, I am completely new and just wondering what needs to be added before in order for this to work with Airtables

var fromDate = new Date(inputData.from);
var toDate = new Date(inputData.to);
var output =[];
var i = 1;
do {
    var useDate = new String(fromDate.toISOString())
    output.push(useDate);
    console.log(fromDate);
    fromDate.setDate(fromDate.getDate() + 1);
    i++
}
while (fromDate <= toDate);
console.log(output);
return{output};
7 Replies 7

Hi @Jack_Tranckle ,

The code you have is missing sort of Airtable specific input and output. I kept your original code in the middle and added example how you could get that data.

I have renamed the variable output to outputRecords because output is an existing object in Airtable used to print output to screen.

I hope this will give you some idea!

const tableWithRange =base.getTable("Date range");
const tableWithDays = base.getTable("Days");

const ranges = await tableWithRange.selectRecordsAsync({fields:["Date start","Date end"]})

for (let range of ranges.records){
    var fromDate = new Date(range.getCellValue("Date start"));
    var toDate = new Date(range.getCellValue("Date end"));
    var outputRecords =[];
    var i = 1;
    do {
        var useDate = fromDate
        outputRecords.push(
           {
               fields:{
                   "Name":new Date(useDate),
                    "Link to range": [{id: range.id}]
                }
           });
        console.log(fromDate);
        fromDate.setDate(fromDate.getDate() + 1);
        i++
    }
    while (fromDate <= toDate);