2575 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Aaron_Reynolds_
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

If I have a Multi-Select field that has many names of people who need to be included in communication, can I setup an Automation to see all those names and then use a Contacts table to pull the correct emails in to add in the To line for the email in the Automation?

One thought I had is somehow to create a Contacts Table and then in the drop down I would show a Concatenate of the person’s name and an Employee ID. Then somehow use an automation to break out and fill a field with only the Employee ID. Then use that Employee ID in another automation that would fill the email addresses. Then somehow use that to fill in on the email automation.

I don’t know if this is too complicated. I am not wanting to purchase anything else at this time from other programs. I am a Pro user in Airtable.

Am I being too complicated with this?

Is there a simpler way?

3 Replies 3

Hello!

So… I recommend that you tweak your base structure a little bit.

Let’s start here:
You have a multiple select field with options for each contact.
Each contact has relevant information that you need to use in a Send Email automation.

It would be much easier and much more efficient to create a new table for each of your contacts.
There are a few advantages of doing this.

1. By creating a new record for each contact, you can hold a ton of data about only that contact. This means you can store email addresses, phone numbers, contact notes, etc.
  2. You can use your automation to find the relevant information you want about that contact and leave the rest out.

Here’s How To Do It

So, let’s say for example you have a table where you have a list of your projects.
In this example, I have fields for contacts/stakeholders, project notes, goal date, and project statuses.

In the next table, Contacts, I have records for each of my individual contacts.