cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Wayne_Merlino
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hey Airtable Community!

I was hoping for some help on overall concept / design. I am an insurance restoration contractor and we currently have a base that we are using to manage our workflow.

We do 3 different kinds of jobs (Mitigation, Contents, and Storage). Due to the way my industry works, each are billed as separate jobs. A few variables:

• A customer can have one of the three job type, two of the three job types, or all three of the job types.

• We want our Accounts Receivable people to be able to call the customer and deal with all types of open invoices - so want to be able to cross reference all invoices for each customer readily and easily. We also want to be able to track notes (interactions) for the open invoices - i.e. a note that says they called or emailed the customer, date, time, etc. to make sure that we are working the open AR. Same thing as above - we want to be able to do this on a customer level as opposed to an invoice level. The idea behind wanting to work the customer angle versus the invoice level is visibility of all open $ per customer allows the AR people to ask about all open invoices, rather than working each one as a separate call or email.

• We currently track the financial side of each type of invoice as three fields: Estimate Total, Paid to Date, and Balance Due.

So, I need help in thinking how to do this without overdoing it. I currently have a table called “Jobs” that has the customer name as the primary field. I know I need to link to that field with any other tables I build for this issue, as we talk about all of our AR by customer name - not invoice number. I am not sure if I should make additional tables for each kind of invoice, etc. Seems like whenever I start building this idea out I get cross linked and redundant fast.