Help

Re: Do I need multiple bases or tables to achieve this?

748 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
David_Jones2
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi everyone, I’m new to Airtable and I’ve exported a CSV list of our projects/customer information from Hubspot to create an overall project tracker. This works really well and I’ve added a new field for a total cost to this base, which I can then break down into a few categories eg pre-production, production, post-production, expenses etc.

What I’d like to do is adapt the Airtable film budget template to create detailed budgets for each project, but I can’t work out how I link this to the project tracker for more than one project.

Do I need to set up a completely new base for each budget or should I have one base with the film budget template and then keep duplicating the table when I start a new project?

We often have multiple projects on the go at the same time, or are pitching for new work where we need to create a cost estimate, so I could quite quickly end up with a lot of spaces/tables. At the moment we use a google sheet for each project but it’s very slow to manage all the information.

Thanks in advance for any help!

I forgot to post the link to the template - Film Budget Template - Free to Use | Airtable

4 Replies 4

Welcome to the Airtable community!

You do not need multiple bases. You also do not need a new table per project. You can create a table like the one in the Film Budget, and add one additional field: a linked record field that links to the project record in your [Projects] table. When you create a new project, also create the associated records in the [Budget] table, linking them to the project record.

David_Jones2
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi kuovonne, thanks for your reply.