cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jamesharding
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi community!

I have an airtable that tracks VFX shots as they come in from vendors.

One sheet (delivery) tracks every shot as it comes in, including the same shot with a different version number due to fixes or changes

On a separate sheet (topsheet) I have a master list of all the VFX shots in the film

On the delivery sheet, I link each record to the master vfx record on the topsheet. That way I can see every version of a VFX shot delivered and track comments

The issue I have is that the producer likes to see a list of every shot that is either 'not started', 'has issues' and 'passed quality check'. The issue is, because multiple deliveries are linked to the master shot, the master shot can be both 'has issues' and 'passed quality check' as the old versions are linked. Is there a way to group the 'topsheet' so that one group is all shots 'not started', all shots that have issue but none that have passed qc, and a group that is any shot that has at least one 'passed qc'

Thanks

James

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi James, thanks for the screenshots and the details!

Yeah, this is a pretty common issue users face, and thankfully there's a known workaround, albeit slightly convoluted

I've put it together here for you to check out, and you can duplicate it to view the formulas I used

And here's some screenshots of it in action:

Screenshot 2023-08-05 at 10.14.46 PM.png

Screenshot 2023-08-05 at 10.14.43 PM.png

The idea is to create a "Created time" field in your "Deliveries" table, and then create a rollup field in your "VFX Shots" table on that field, with the formula "MAX(values)".  This'll return the most recent created date for all the deliveries linked to that shot