Help

Re: How can I compute formulas on group summary statistics?

1351 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Callme_Whatiwan
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I have a table with tens of thousands of rows, and one non-unique column is ‘asset type’. I can group by asset type, then view the sums of other data columns by that grouping. That’s 80% of what I need!

Now I need to calculate several formulae based on those sums for each group. The simplest example is dividing two of the sums. For each formula I need to calculate and view one number per group.

How do I do this?

I’m pretty new to Airtable and still learning, but is there anyway to create a new linked table where each row contains those summary data from each group? Then I could simply add a formula field for this new table for each formula I need. That would do what I need perfectly.

I’ve looked a little bit at linked fields, but I don’t see how that would work for my case because there’s no way to do ‘automatic linking’ based on my ~1 hour of searching these forums (even though it’s frequently asked about and requested, which is disheartening).

Without automatic linking, I would have to manually go through each asset type (dozens), and for each one select all of the correct rows on the main table (tens of thousands of entries). I would have to make no mistakes, and I need to do this weekly!

That’s a complete non-starter, since the whole reason I’m looking into Airtable is to save my time not add tedious labor.

So, I want to echo the oft repeated request for automatic linking to the Airtable team. A lot of the other posts I see requesting it seem to be from database people. I’m not a database person (I can’t remember what foreign keys are, exactly). So instead I’ll just describe the kind of feature I want:

1. Add a field type called “automatic link to another table” or something similar but distinct from the current linked field type.