Help

Re: How to pull data from table 1 to table 2 if it matches a condition?

986 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Airradiator
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Complete newbie here so go easy. 

Table_A contains 2 fields: 'Name' and 'Status' (Active or Expired)

How can I automatically pull all 'Names' with only status 'Active' into a field in Table_B?

I want it so that any changes made to the 'Status' in Table_A are auto synced and refreshed in Table_B.

Thank You

4 Replies 4

Not sure if I'm understanding you right so I threw this together:

Screenshot 2023-02-08 at 12.13.43 PM.png

Screenshot 2023-02-08 at 12.13.47 PM.png

Link to base

All the records in Table A are linked to a single "Helper" record in Table B, and you use a conditional lookup there to only display records where the "Status" field has the value "Active"

You could also create an automation that would trigger whenever a record gets created in Table A to link itself to the helper record immediately too

Hey Pal, thanks for the prompt reply. I think you're on the right track but it's not exactly what I need. Upon further reading, I suspect I need to 'sync' tables. To quote Airtable, I need to 'sync records from a source base to one or more destination bases to create a single source of truth'

Here's an example:  
https://airtable.com/shrKhbKzwKbPwU3qc

Table A is the source of truth. Table B only shows 'active users' and auto updates each time Table A is updated

Ah I see.  Yeah the synced views would work here, you'd create a view that's filtered to show only records that are "Active", sync it to another base, then sync it to your original base.  Could be fairly laggy though, maybe 10-15 minutes before updates you make show up in the synced view

If not, you could make an automation that would trigger whenever the "Status" field gets updated, with a conditional action of:
1. If "Active", create a record in Table B with the appropriate values