cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Ncec_Uia
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello,
We are trying to get our inventory to calculate right. I’m new to airtable and can’t seem to figure out what I need to do to get it to work out for me.
I have several items that will be used by a couple different customers daily and we want to make sure we know in real time how much stock we have.
I have attached my page and highlighted the Items. This is just a few of the similar items we have.
thank you for your help

7 Replies 7

Hey @Ncec_Uia!
Welcome in!

I’m pretty tired, so my writing might be scattered, but here’s what I’ve cooked up.

This reminds me of a thread from earlier this year.
The use case was similar (with key differences) to yours.

Here’s the base that I created for that post. Feel free to take a peek if you want to see it at scale.

Let’s get a bit more in-depth on your specific use case.
I created a demo base that you can reference and copy to use as a bit of a template or want to dig into how it works a bit more.

A critical part of building a database is understanding where certain pieces of information should live.
I don’t fully understand what your use case is or what information you’re working with, so I’ve filled in the gaps for the sake of my example.

I started by creating four tables.

1. Events

It’s pretty vague, so I’m just going to imagine that these are literal events with inventory associated with them. This is the cause of the in-and-out of your inventory items.

1. Customers

You didn’t have a customer table, but I saw the lookup field in your screenshot.
For this example, I’m going to create a customer table, as it will allow us to get reliable reporting information (if desired).

1. Inventory

Each record in this table represents a unique type of item (SKU) that you keep in your inventory.

Since our inventory also stores information about how much we have in stock, our inventory count should live here.