cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
haakonbirk
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi!

I am new to airtable so I am looking for some help. I am trying to create a database/input form for data that will be loaded into powerBI.

The goal is to analyze revenue streams in PowerBI. Each revenue stream has a set of fields, among them are StreamID (Unique), report date, department, revenue type and $ sum. For each revenue stream I want to be able to allocate a percentage of the sum to the brokers in the company. The number of brokers per project varies.  What I am wondering is how I can create multiple key value pairs for each revenue record in my database?

I currently have two ideas for how it could be solved:

1. Putting an allocations field in the revenuestreams table that contains multiple key-value pairs, i.e.:

StreamID(many fields)Allocation
1...{Peter: 20%, John: 80%}
2...{Peter: 40%, Eva: 60%}

I know this would be possible with a multiple select field where the user enters a delimited string, i.e. "peter-20", "john-80", however this is a very iffy database design and I would like to avoid this. Does anyone know if airtable has support for multiple selection fields where each selection is a key-value pair?

2. The other option is creating one RevenueStreams table and one allocations table that would look something like this:

StreamID(many fields)

With a separate Allocations table looking something like this:

StreamIDBrokerAllocation
1Peter20%
1John80%
2Peter40%
2Eva60%

While the last solution works and is a better database design, I encounter a couple of issues>

Firstly, I want the users who enter the data to be able to enter it in a single form/sheet. I don't want the user to have to enter the revenue streams first in one table and then copy paste the stream id to register each allocation percentage.