685 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Doug_Grauel
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I am a solo lawyer but I collaborate on some of my cases with other lawyers.

I need to be able to see all of my cases in one place, but I need to share information with the other lawyers only for the cases that they are involved with and they need edit-level permission.  “Views” are not sufficient to share information in a usable format, so I have created “interfaces” to do that.  The problem is that interface sharing seems to require base-level collaborator access, but all of the cases are currently in one base and based off one master table with several related linked tables for specific things.

Under this arrangement, some of the data for cases that are not associated with a given collaborating lawyer may be visible to those nonaffiliated lawyers, but it is impossible to know or to control that easily.

I don’t know whether to divide the cases into bases according to the co-counsel or not.  If I did separate the cases into separate bases, I would still want to have one interface that only I could consult for a global overview, with identical separate interfaces for each co-counsel that would limit the view to only their cases, i.e. only the cases in their bases.  My overview would just aggregate that information, or perhaps be in a synced table that pulled in all co-counsel cases.  I don’t know. Looking for advice or consulting help.

Thanks in advance!

6 Replies 6
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Keep all the cases in one base, and create a field whose type is a "User" field. This is where you will attach a lawyer to each case.

Airtable's interfaces allow you to filter an interface page by "CURRENT USER", so when the user logs into the interface, they will only see their cases.

When you share an interface, you DON'T need to give them base access. You can give them access to just the interface.