cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Nareg_Kara-Yaco
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi all.

I have a fairly quick problem. I’m a relative novice to JavaScript and coding, so forgive me if this is a silly question.

I found some code that will duplicate a record and copy all fields, with the ability to exclude certain fields. I can fill in my table and exclusion fields, and it works as intended. The original thread is here:

I am looking to do exactly what was described in this post. The only part of the code that does not work for me is to include the “parent”, i.e. the original record to be duplicated, as a new, linked field in the duplicated record. Maybe I’m missing it, but I don’t see where in the new duplicated record that the old, originally selected record is referenced.

Please let me know if you need any more info! I’m hoping that in the coming months my familiarity with Javascript and Airtable will improve to the point where I can design these systems myself, but for now I just need to a fix. Thanks!

Best regards,

Nareg

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Justin_Barrett
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the community, @Nareg_Kara-Yacoubian! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes:

You’re not missing anything. The way I read that, the update to add a link to the original record was never added. What was added was an update to copy over all linked record fields.

If you want to add a link to the original, change this line:

let obj = {}

to this:

let obj = {"Link to Original": [{id: original.id}]}

Replace "Link to Original" with the name of the field that will contain the link to the original record.

See Solution in Thread

4 Replies 4
Justin_Barrett
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the community, @Nareg_Kara-Yacoubian! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes:

You’re not missing anything. The way I read that, the update to add a link to the original record was never added. What was added was an update to copy over all linked record fields.