cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Krishna_S_Bouka
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi everyone
I am trying to create a hash of a record using md5. I am fairly new to script but I am willing to learn. does anyone have an idea of how to do that?

Thank you

9 Replies 9

There are at least six pathways any recommendation could lead; help me find the right pathway by sharing what you would do with a hashed record.

Hi Bill, sorry I just saw your message.
Yes so what i want to do is the following
I have a table with a concatenated field. I would like to generate a hash for the concatenated field

The table looks like something like this:

<iframe class="airtable-embed" src="https://airtable.com/embed/shr9DMj7PirI4dY6e?backgroundColor=teal&viewControls=on" frameborder="0" onmousewheel="" width="100%" height="533" style="background: transparent; border: 1px solid #ccc;"></iframe>

Sorry i don’t know how to copy a view of the base.

The concatenated value is to be hashed on the last column.

Any idea how this could be achieved?
Thanks

Right, I understand what you would do to the target field. I don’t understand the reason for doing so.

If you are trying to conceal a password, for instance, my advice would be very different from using this approach to generate an immutable key value.

My advice is gated by the objective.

actually, the purpose is to produce a hash that will be added to a url to produce a unique url for SSO.
I am happy to concatenate the differente values, no pb there, my issue is about hashing a parameter using md5
I can integrate that hash to the url parameter. I hope the objective is clearer. Thanks

Okay, and is the purpose to encode the URL to avoid all of the issues with a URL parameter that is unruly and unable to meet the requirements of HTTP addresses? If so, why not simply encode the parameter?