Help

Re: How can I do a basic lookup on Airtable using Node js?

Solved
Jump to Solution
4581 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
J_Mai
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi everyone - I’m a total beginner to Node js but it’s very frustrating, that after hours of searching on Airtable Docs as well as through the community, I can’t seem to find the answer to one of the most basic things a user would want to do with a database.

Screen Shot 2021-02-16 at 8.23.23 PM

In short - I’m trying to do a lookup. Given a “phone number” of “(454) 382-9029”, I want to return the “Full Name” of “Carol Lerner”. I want Airtable to access the right record and the code to print the “Full Name”.

In Excel this takes 2 seconds to do. I’m at a loss why this has been so difficult to find code for on Airtable Docs or Community on Node js. I know that I’m a beginner. I’m not sure why it’s so difficult to see how to do something like this. My code won’t really be of much help here as I keep getting errors when I try to run it.

Thanks for taking a look and hope you can help.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
J_Mai

I was able to eventually figure this out. Here’s the code for anyone interested.

What was wrong was that I needed to use a “===” operator. I wish Airtable docs had something to show “If statements” so I could have learned this much faster.

var carolNumber = "(454) 382-9029"

base('Table1').select(
    {
      maxRecords: 3,
      view: 'Grid view'
    }
  ).firstPage(function page(err, records)
    {
      if (err) { console.error(err); return;  }
      records.forEach(function(record) {
          if(record.get('Phone Number') === carolNumber)
          {
          console.log('Lookup is', record.get('Full Name'));
          }
        });
      });

// Returns "Lookup is Carol Lerner"

See Solution in Thread

6 Replies 6

Hi @J_Mai, and welcome to the community!