Help

How do I use a script to pull variables out of long text to populate multiple fields?

Topic Labels: Scripting extentions
Solved
Jump to Solution
1506 5
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
David_Needham
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi all! I’m new to Airtable and trying to figure out how to pull multiple variables out of a single long text field.

I’m pulling the Description from an event in Google Calendar and syncing it into a Description field in Airtable. This field will have some things defined in a predictable pattern, such as the Zoom URL, name of the presenter, etc. - each corresponding to a field that exists in Airtable. What is the best way to set this up to be parsed through in Airtable? Is there a tutorial out there that could point me in the right direction?

Feel free to suggest something else if I’m going about this the wrong way. Thank you!

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
David_Needham

Thank you @Vivid-Squid & @Justin_Barrett ! This was really helpful. It took a couple of formula fields and some automations, but here’s what it looks like:

1. In the Gcal event I have something like this in the Description field:
Workshop: My Workshop Name
Zoom URL: https://zoom.com/s/something-here
  1. Thanks to an automation, that field syncs from Gcal to Airtable into a record that I named Description.

2. Then I have a formula field named “Workshop Name” with the following code: REGEX_EXTRACT(Description,'Workshop: (.*?)<'). The < works because Gcal converts the line break into a <br> and occasionally will add unnecessary html formatting that I don’t want.