Help

Re: I need a DELAY method & setTimeout() is undefined (not found Window)

2485 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
David_Koontz
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hey,

I’m a newbie with JavaScript so this might be obvious …

I need a delay(ms) method to slow down the script after 5 API calls (limit 5/min.). Problem is all the JavaScript help on the intertube points to the setTimeout() method of the Window object. But it appears that Window is not instantiated inside the Airtable code block, therefore, no setTimeout() method. What’s a good workaround for this?

What might I be missing - other methods?

Thanks
David

53 Replies 53

Well, I’m not sure if I can split it.
The trigger is when record is updated.
There’s no problem when the record being updated don’t have a dependent record.

When you update the name of the parent, the child get’s triggered as well because it has the parent’s name in a column (the update trigger). I wanted it in a way that the parent script operation gets executed first than the child. That’s why I wanted a delay for the child script.

Can you give more details on what you are trying to accomplish? What do you want your script to do? Are the parent and child records in the same table or different tables?
Do both the parent and child records trigger the same automation?

doesnt work what else can i do?

Brian_Frank
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi @kuovonne,

Thanks for clarifying the difference between automation and scripting block. This is a very helpful thread!

I just wanted to respond to a question you asked quite a while ago, as I didn’t see anyone else answering. I have at least one example of a situation in which you might need a delay in an automation…