1694 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Josh_Cooper
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

I would like to write a simple script block triggered by the new beta button to update fields in the record which the button was push. The use can is this. Our team uses a base to track orders through a production environment: planning to operations to lab to shipping. There are several fields that have to be updated to move the records from one department’s view to the next and it would be great to automate these updates with a button.

I have no javascript experience so I really don’t know where to even start. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Kasra
9 - Sun
9 - Sun

Glad you got it working! There isn’t a way to prevent the scripting block from opening at the moment. It’s often useful to show some indication to the person who clicked the button whether the script ran successfully or not.

See Solution in Thread

7 Replies 7
Jarvis
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

Yes, I also think it would be very much appreciated if someone could help out :slightly_smiling_face: . I also have no knowledge about this, but with all the cool things everyone’s testing out I feel I’m missing out on a lot of cool stuff and tricks that could help work around a lot of existing limitations

I was able to piece together the code to update a single-select field.

let table = base.getTable("Orders");
let field = table.getField('Order Info');

let record = await input.recordAsync('Choose a record', table);

let cellValue = record.getCellValue(field);
let currentId = record.id
output.markdown(`# You have updated ${cellValue}.`);

let changeField = table.getField("testDropDown");
let originalValue = record.getCellValue(changeField);
let newValue = "Yes";
table.updateRecordAsync(record,{
    "testDropDown":{name:newValue},
})