2176 1
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Philip_Bassham
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

So, I am trying to write a snippet to use in the code step of Zapier.

Their documentation says

[output] An object or array of objects that will be the “return value” of this code. You can explicitly return early if you like.

Setting the output to an array of objects will run the subsequent steps multiple times — once for each object in the array. If Code by Zapier is the Zap’s trigger and an empty array is returned, nothing happens.

My problem is that this sure looks like an array of objects to me, but Zapier says its not. Any ideas?

24 AM

13 Replies 13

Hi @Philip_Bassham

I’m not really a programmer - but I’ve used the Javascript code step to loop through records on many occasions - here is an example:

This brings a comma separated list of record ids from a Link field and converts it into an array of objects - and later steps run for each.

You need to be aware that there is a limit on this ability in Zapier - it will only loop through up to 25 objects. There is a way around this - which is to first split the initial comma separated list into an array of objects each themselves contain a comma separated list of 25 items - and so on.

I actually use that snippet that you wrote, so I am glad you replied.

I am not a programmer either, I just can’t figure out how my output is different from what your output is and not what Zapier wants.

Hi

Here is the equivalent output from one of my code steps:

[ { thisReminderObj: { record: [String: ‘recSRKjZTgpQoemE8’] } }, { thisReminderObj: { record: [String: ‘recX3M4SxiEzdCzXY’] } } ]

You’ll see it’s different from yours - the object is called thisReminderObj with a property called record and the object is repeated (an array of objects??). I think yours is simply an array??

Here is the loop that builds it:

do {
var thisReminder = new String(reminderListArray[i]);