cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Kristen_Edge
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi all,

I am trying to combine text from two fields using Concatenate (and that’s simple enough) but when I try to add a Substitute formula to shorten one field’s text, it doesn’t work. I am new to formulas, and am sure I’m doing something wrong here. Here are the two formulas that work on their own, but not together. Thank you for any insights!

SUBSTITUTE(RIGHT({2021-22 School Program & Membership},LEN({2021-22 School Program & Membership})-22)

CONCATENATE({Program Booked},’ / ',{School Name})

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Now I’m confused. You started off this thread with the field {2021-22 School Program & Membership} in your formulas. Was that just an example? Do you just want to concatenate {Program Booked} (less first 16 chars) and {School Name}? If so,

CONCATENATE(RIGHT({Program Booked},LEN({Program Booked})-16),’ / ',{School Name})

Is that what you were going for?

See Solution in Thread

8 Replies 8

Your SUBSTITUTE() function isn’t formatted correctly. The basic format is this:

SUBSTITUTE(source_string, string_to_find, substitute_string)

In that layout, substitute_string will be inserted everywhere that string_to_find is located in source_string.

Before trying to help you work up the correct formula, it would help to know more details about your end goal.

augmented
10 - Mercury
10 - Mercury

Hi Kirsten. Based on my answer to your prior post, I’m guessing you might want something like this:

CONCATENATE({Program Booked},’ / ',{School Name},RIGHT({2021-22 School Program & Membership},LEN({2021-22 School Program & Membership})-22))

You might want some whitespace after {School Name} as well. But that’s just a wild stab in the dark.

Thanks for your help (again!). Airtable accepted the formula but it didn’t remove the 22 characters for some reason.