1727 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Leon_Wetterich
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hey Everyone, I’m pretty new with Airtable and really enjoyed the freatures that it gives the user. I’m creating a Data-Sheet that basically manages Leads and also outputs them to Asana, Now my question was if there is a possibilty to generate a Text (Name of an Employee to Handle the Case) in a seperate cell based on a Number in a cell (Number of Teams - Prioritized) and a Postcode in another cell (The Data in the Sheet Currently has 5-6 Characters, all numbers) The thing is we seperate Tasks based on the first 2 characters of the postcode to our Employees. Do you see any Possibility to get this to work?

Thank you in Advance :grinning_face_with_big_eyes:

3 Replies 3

Welcome to the community, Leon! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: Part of what you want to do makes sense, but part is a little unclear. You say there are two criteria that drive the assignment:

1. “a Number in a cell (Number of Teams - Prioritized)”
  2. “the first 2 characters of the postcode”

Let’s address #2 first. Using LEFT will let you pull off the first two characters from the postcode, assuming it’s a text field. If it’s a numeric field, the value will have to be concatenated with a string before LEFT can operate on it, so it’s going to be either:

LEFT({Postcode}, 2)

…or…

LEFT({Postcode} & "", 2)

SWITCH will let you control the output based on what’s found in those two characters. Here’s an example using a text-based postcode field to assign to one of three people. Just plop in the other version if it’s numeric.

SWITCH(
    LEFT({Postcode}, 2),
    "01", "Person 1",
    "02", "Person 2",
    "03", "Person 3"
)