500 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Christhian_Dia1
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi, I’m new to the airtable community, and slowly understanding formulas, but I can’t figure out how to write a script to do the following. This is my base: https://airtable.com/shrVDFgXXjqANyMWd

When I new record comes into this base, I want to set a trigger that checks the bid amount against the current “MaxBid,” and if it is ≤ to it, I want to then make changes to another field in that record. In this case, if the “Bid amount” of the new record is ≤ the “MaxBid,” I want to unlink that record from the “Item bidding on” so that it doesn’t pass unto the other table.

How do I write and IF() script for this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,
Christhian

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Justin_Barrett
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the community, @Christhian_Diaz1! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: I noticed that you tagged both “Formulas” and “Automations” for this topic. Formulas can’t alter other fields, though, but automations can do that pretty easily.

First, make a formula field that compares the {Bid} value against {MaxBid}:

Bid <= MaxBid

That formula will return a 1 when the {Bid} is less than or equal to {MaxBid}, and a 0 otherwise. I’ll name this formula field {Under-Bid}. Now create a new automation using the “When record matches conditions” trigger. The condition should be when {Under-Bid} equals 1.

Next add an “Update record” action, and make sure you’re updating the record that triggered the automation. Add the {Item bidding on} link field, but leave the contents empty. That will clear out that link when the record is updated.

Now when new records come in, that formula will output 0 or 1 depending on the bid value compared to the max. If it’s lower or equal, it will trigger the automation, which will clear the link.

See Solution in Thread

2 Replies 2
Justin_Barrett
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto