Help

Re: Just making sure... no easy way of having a field with percentage of sum, correct? 🤔

Solved
Jump to Solution
1717 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Phil_G
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi there! :grinning:

Thanks in advance for taking the time to help me out.
I’m new to airtable and I’m currently evaluating if I can use it for my small business to do the budgeting for my projects.

I actually think what I’m looking for is too much of a spreadsheet functionality which isn’t supported by airtable as a database tool. But I would love to be wrong because it would make my life so much easier if it was possible:
I’m trying to calculate the costs of each of my departments and usually just have a long list of items and staff. Some fields I need to be the percentage of the total costs (and update automatically if the total sum changes).
For instance I would like to have a field with contingency costs of 5% of the total sum.
Am I right assuming that there is no easy formula that can do that? And I would have to follow a complicated workaround with rollup fields and a linked table instead, because you can’t use summary values in formula fields?

I feel like I’m really in a pickle as this seems to be the only functionality I’m missing at this point, but it’s a crucial one. Using Google Sheets instead would easily allow me to create such function but other things not so much (client lists, staff lists with infos, gantt charts, etc.)

Thanks so much for helping a beginner out :slightly_smiling_face:

• Phil
    Screenshot 2021-12-19 at 11.55.03
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

Thanks for the explanation. Just to clarify: Those two services are 5% of which total? Are you sending out offers with certain products or which total do you mean exactly?