cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Meredith_Winner
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi there,
I’m new to airtable! I have a huge list of contacts that I need to categorize. I am using the drop down Multiple Select Field tool to create “Tags.”

I have over 2,000 contact and airtable is only allowing me to select one contact at a time. Is there a way to select 100s of contacts and batch them all as the same tag?

Thanks!
Meredith

6 Replies 6
Olly_L
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

There are a couple of options for this.

You can select a set of options and then Copy/Paste them into multiple contacts at once. This can be useful but will “Overwrite” any previous options.

You can also use a formula to create a comma separated list, paste this in and it will select the appropriate options.

So:

• Let’s say you have 1000 records, with a Multiple select field called Multiple with a bunch of options already selected.
  • Identify 30 that you want to add a new “Tag” to in the Multiple select field.
  • Create a new Single line text field called ‘Tag to be added’, add the “Tag” as text into the field for the 30 records
  • Create a Formula field with the formula: {Multiple} & ", " & {Tag to be added}
  • Copy and paste the result of the Formula field into the Multiple select field…

Does that work?

Thanks Olly_L!

So I already have all of these contacts into a base and have about 400 of the 2,000+ tagged.

Would option 2 make the tags I’ve already done disappear?

Ie: I need to select 600 records and use the Multiple select field option of “Videographer” - I need to select 400 more that should be labeled “Corporate Clients” - I just want to make sure I understand this all correctly. My tags in the multiple select tool are already set up?

Option 2 (the bullet pointed list) is a way to add tags to a bunch of records without overriding the previous tags.