Help

Re: Airtable - jeez! they make it difficult!

1684 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Geoff_Warburton
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Absolute Beginner here - still struggling to make Airtable do what I want. So here I am - ONE YEAR later after my first post here, and I am not much further forward in my use and comprehension of Airtable.

Admittedly, I have not been continuously attempting to learn Airtable in all that time, but the interface really intrigues me and all the examples make it look really easy to master and the fact is - it isn't!  Being a retired database developer, I am not exactly new to the concept!

However, I have just spent an hour trying to get a formula in an Airtable base record that gives me what I want - simple - you would think, but no - not for me!

All I am trying to do is insert today's date when a status field in the record changes to a certain value.  I've learned that I can use the function today() in a formula field to achieve this. According to the "reference material", today() only returns a date - Not so as far as I can see!  I cannot find any definition description of the function today() to discover what I'm doing wrong!

My formula is 

IF({Summons Status}="Received",TODAY(),"")
The result I get from this is
23-07-31T00.00.00.000Z
How I go from the above value to a UK version of today's date, 23/07/2023, completely escapes me and is incongruous with the explanation that today() only returns a date (with no time component).

Any help would be appreciated before I once more get so frustrated I give it all up and wait another year before I try again.

Thanks,
Geoff

15 Replies 15

I will try the Kuvonne solution and report back. Thanks.

Geoff_Warburton

OK - I now have a field called "Summons Received Date with the formula

IF({Summons Status}="Received",DATETIME_FORMAT({Status LMD},"DD/MM/YYYY"))