cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Marie_Peze
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi!

I’m new to formulas, and I can’t figure that one out, even though I’m sure it’s pretty simple.
I’ve got a table with a multiple select field, and I’d like to know at a glance how many of these multiple selects were selected in each row, so I’m making a formula field COUNTA ({name of multiple select field}) but all it does is tell me 1 if there’s something in there, and 0 if there’s nothing. It doesn’t count how many items I’ve selected. Can anybody help me find the right formula? Many thanks in advance!

14 Replies 14
Rasha
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

One small modification to avoid counting NO zip as 1 Zip

IF((
(
  LEN({ZIP Arrayjoin}) - 
  LEN(
    SUBSTITUTE(
      {ZIP Arrayjoin},
      ',',
      ''
    )
  )
) + 1
) > 1, 
((
  LEN({ZIP Arrayjoin}) - 
  LEN(
    SUBSTITUTE(
      {ZIP Arrayjoin},
      ',',
      ''
    )
  )
) + 1), 
"0")

That solution doesn’t quite work – it incorrectly treats arrays of size one as zero.

VictoriaPlummer
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

The solution is hidden in this article, but SUBSTITUTE() will get you what you need. Change {Collaborator} for your needs.

IF( LEN({Collaborator}) = 0, 0, LEN(CONCATENATE(",", {Collaborator})) - LEN(SUBSTITUTE({Collaborator}, ",", "")))

This is a bit tangential to the OP but haven’t been able to find a solution.

I have 10 single select columns (yes or no) in a table, and for each row I need to sum (count) the number of selected yes choices. It’s not a rollup, nor is it a multi select where I need to use the LEN for commas, etc. Can someone help? Thanks!

Welcome to the community, @Kyle_Langenbach! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: Here are the steps involved, all of which can be done in a single field:

• Concatenate all fields into a single string. That will leave you with something like “YesNoNoYesYesYesNoYesNoNo”