cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Christian_Gabri
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello!

I’m having trouble with a formula, DATEADD({date}, 2, ‘days’) works perfectly but I need to add time as well specifically.

For example, a record was created on Saturday at 8pm, the formula should logged a date on Monday at exactly 7am.

We have team A who creates record during weekends and those records are sometimes being created in weekends. Team B will only be able to check those records during Monday to Friday and their scores/metrics are being affected in our report. We wanted to create an automatic field that will logged those records on weekends to Monday at 7am.

I think a formula won’t work on this issue and scripting would be better but I’m not good at coding.

3 Replies 3

Hey @Christian_Gabriel_Cr!
Welcome in!

I’m not at my computer right now, so I can’t build an example and provide screenshots, but I can explain it nonetheless.

The thing to know about the DATEADD function is that it supports adding an array of time/date parameters.
So if you were to format the result of the function into a DATETIME_FORMAT function like this:

DATETIME_FORMAT(
    DATEADD(
        NOW(),
        'days'
    ),
    'LLL'
)

You would get something like this: July 8, 2022 12:00 AM.

Notice that while it went from 7/7/22 to 7/8/22, but the time defaults to midnight.

So, if we know that the time always defaults to midnight on the date, we can use another DATEADD function to set the time for the desired result. This time, we’ll change the parameter from being 'days' to 'hours'.

If we wanted to have the formula go from right now to July 8th, 2022 at 8am, we would use this formula:

DATETIME_FORMAT(
    DATEADD(
        DATEADD(
            NOW(),
            'days'
        ),
        'hours'
    ),
    'LLL'
)

The formula should return this: July 8th, 2022 8:00 AM.