cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Stasia_Jahadi
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi everyone,

Is there a way to calculate the days between records? For example - I’m tracking workouts and want to promote daily activities by tracking streaks. Therefore, I need to calculate the days between each record entry. This was my google sheets formula =IFERROR(DATEDIF(A1,A2,“d”),"") but I’m not seeing any way to compare two dates from two different rows of data.
Thanks for your help, I’m new to Airtable and after some searching I could only find solutions that leveraged data from the same row vs. 2 individual rows.

Anastasia

8 Replies 8

Welcome to the community, @Stasia_Jahadi! :grinning_face_with_big_eyes: Airtable records have no inherent knowledge of each other. It’s one of the key differences between a database and a spreadsheet. There are ways of doing the type of calculation that you want, but they either involve messy multi-table connections (which I don’t recommend) or scripts (which are free if you don’t mind running them manually, or which require your base to be in a Pro-plan workspace or higher if you want something automated). That said, my brain just went off on a tangent, and I can think of one possible method to pull this off via an automation that doesn’t require scripting, but designing the trigger may be tricky.

Also a possibility: creating a linked field to the same table, linking the previous workout the current one, adding a lookup field to lookup the created date of that previous workout and adding a formula field that calculates the differents in days between the 2. Then you can also use the options at the bottom (range, histogram, min, max, …).