Help

Re: Help with script extension crash when inserting a link record ID in record in another table

Solved
Jump to Solution
446 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stenkate
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Hi there,

I'm not a developer but I'm exploring and using various scripting options, but can't seem to mitigate the crash I encounter when to use the script below. Can someone help with this? Thanks in advance!

The feature I want to build is a bigger one: it's a vlookup feature with auto categorization based on the intermediate table [personal categorization] - so a script to conditionally link a record.

But this is a simplified version without that auto vlookup to focus first on the crash when trying to link a record:

Here I choose one record from table [personal expenses] and one from the table [personal categorization].

The field [Type] in table [personal categorization] is a linked field with a link to a record in a 3rd table [personal budget].

What I want to do in the end, is that the chosen record in [personal expenses] is linked to the record in [personal budget] via the field [tmpLookUpLinks], and that value should be retrieved from the field [Type] in the [personal categorization] table.

Note: each link has only 1 link, no multiple record link fields are configured

The script crashes when running. FYI: maybe there's a connection with this forum post, but not quite sure.

See below for the simplified code; hopefully someone can help!

// Get the record
let mainTable = base.getTable("personal expenses")
let recordMainTable = await input.recordAsync('Select a record', mainTable)

let lookupTable = base.getTable("personal categorization")
let recordLookupTable = await input.recordAsync('Select a record', lookupTable)

let linkTypeID = recordLookupTable.getCellValue("Type")[0].id;
let tmpLookUpLinks = "tmpLookUpLinks";

await mainTable.updateRecordAsync(recordMainTable, {