589 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Dante_Guintu
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hi AT community. Looking for some advice and tips (btw, I’m new to Airtable).

We’re creating an informal buddy/mentor matching program within our team. Our table is fairly straightforward and folks filled out a form:

[record]

• Name
  • areas of strength/expertise [open text]
  • areas of growth [open text]
  • paired for strength [hidden]
  • paired for growth [hidden]

The last two are to keep track of who’s paired up with whom.

The ask: how can AT be leveraged to create matches between a listed strength/expertise with someone looking to grow in that subject.

A few caveats, we don’t expect an automated pairing as other nuances will come into play (like time zones) but just something semi-automated that helps synthesize the blobs of input. Hope that makes sense.

Many thanks.

2 Replies 2

Hi Dante, I’ve put something together here that would be how I would handle it

(It assumes that the records are created via a Form submission, and that users are keying in the data in a comma separated list)

Screenshot 2022-08-05 at 10.51.16 AM

The idea is that, after users have submitted the form with the comma separated list of areas of strength and growth (e.g. Strengths = “Expertise 1, Expertise 2”, Growth = “Expertise 3”), we use an automation to paste those values into a linked field to a table called Areas, resulting in something that looks like this:

Screenshot 2022-08-05 at 10.51.23 AM

From here, you can tell that Expertise 1 is a strength for Person 1, Person 5 and Person 6, and that an area of growth for Person 2, Person 3, and Person 4

We then have a lookup field back in the original table that will list the people whose strengths match the areas of growth for that record

Screenshot 2022-08-05 at 10.56.43 AM