7308 12
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sean_Comerford
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I am new to Airtable and haven’t had luck finding a solution for this use case. Is there a native or third-party function that automatically populates a Single-Select or Multi-Select field with the values from a column as selectable options? A manual copy/paste would not work, as the data would need to be dynamic in cases where new data is added to the source column or if one of the column’s values change.

12 Replies 12

Airtable will automatically turn all of your field values into drop-down options when you convert the field to single-select or multi-select.

Thank you for replying. I have read of this, though I don’t believe this is a solution as it is a one-time only, manual event. When the data in the original column is added to or changes, those changes would not be reflected in the drop-down options.

That’s not true. Airtable always adds the values into the options. So convert your field, and then you will get the behavior you’re looking for.

Does it need to be a dropdown? What you’re describing sounds like it could be implemented as a linked record – with the caveat that the “column” that populates the dropdown would have to be its own table, or the primary/name field of an existing table.

Right, linked fields have the same behavior, with the advantage of each option is its own record in another table.

Since you’re new to Airtable, I would highly recommend checking out my free Airtable training course, which covers all of these topics:

I am happy to give this a try, entirely possible I am missing a common function.

To clarify:

• Table A contains a “Fruit” field/column listing 50 fruit names (Apple, Orange, etc.).