Help

Re: Pro Plan Mutiple Teams

5709 2
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Mike_Coghill
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

I am on the pro plan but when I create a new workspace it defaults to Free why is that?

15 Replies 15

Not quite - you could do this all within a single workspace, since you can invite collaborators to only collaborate on a single base.

1 Pro Workspace: 4 Users
Base1: You, PersonA, PersonB
Base2: You, PersonB, PersonC
Base3: You

You - can see the whole workspace and all bases
PersonA - can see only Base1 in a workspace called “Shared with me” in his/her account
PersonB - can see only Base1 and Base2 in a workspace called “Shared with me” in his/her account
PersonC - can see only Base2 in a workspace called “Shared with me” in his/her account

You pay for 4 users total in your Pro Workspace.

You can invite collaborators at the Workspace level, in which case that user can see the entire workspace in his/her account. But usually as the administrator of multiple bases in a workspace, you would invite collaborators on a per-base basis.

Here’s what that “Shared with me” workspace looks like:
Screen Shot 2018-06-06 at 5.32.46 PM.png

Brad_Johns
6 - Interface Innovator
6 - Interface Innovator

Yep. OK. Makes more sense-ish. I had forgotten we have the option to collaborate by base or workspace. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

But it is somewhat the case that if they create an account that now converts to a paid account for Airtable, I am still charged and now they are charging the new person as well. (That person may not be collaborating with anyone else but just needs the Blocks function or everything else trapped in Pro.)

Per workspace is a fairly ridiculous way to charge to me.

I was going to really try to integrate Airtable in with an educational model but cannot with good conscence with that pricing structure. I may use it in some ways but it lost all ability to harness its power when I have to personally pay for each person I collaborate with for every different workspace.

It would make much more sense to me if true collaboration was limited to read only or forms until the other person upgraded to their own Pro account. Then it should become a equal capability. You would have more people creating collaborative airtables and more accounts converting to paid Pro levels. As it is, I’m penalized by encouraging someone to collaborate and they are not spreading out their base of paid Pro accounts. Or there are thresholds of the numbers on a team but to have me take a hit of $20 per person, on top of my own pro account? Nope. That’s not collaborative. That’s prohibitive, unfortunately.

It’s disappointing.

This works OK for me. I am a new user and at some point will probably upgrade to Pro. While I have two workspaces (business and personal) I have no collaborators (it is just for me) and I am happy for the personal workspace just to have the free features but for my work the higher level features would be worthwhile enough to pay the fee. So thanks for this detailed explanation.

I have upgraded to pro plan and when i collaborate with my team I am billed. This is so ridiculous.

Mariusz_S
7 - App Architect
7 - App Architect

If I’m on a PRO Plan and share the workspace with someone that’s also on PRO Plan, would I be charged for the additional workspace member?