Re: Remove white spaces at the end of an entry

Solved
Jump to Solution
2972 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I have a field that is an entry field and that is part of a rather complicated page design, where I need to be able to trim away and spaces at the end of an entry as sometimes the user ads a whitespace I guess out of habit.

Is this possible?

I’ve been playing around with the TRIM() and SUBSTITUTE(), but I have a hard time finding a solution that’ll apply just to the end of the entry?

I’ve tried this, but it dosen’t get rid of the white space at the end

IF(RIGHT({Alcantara},1)=" ", 
    LEFT({Alcantara}, FIND(' ', {Alcantara}, LEN({Alcantara})-1), 
    {Alcantara}
    )
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions

I’m no expert on the TRIM() function, but normally it only trims the whitespaces in front and at the end of a string, so not the spaces between words. That’s why I found it strange that you’ve tried it, but didn’t deem it a solution. Or am I missing something?

See Solution in Thread

7 Replies 7

Perhaps a dumb question, but why is trimming at the beginning of the string not an option?

No entirely sure I understand your question, but maybe thats because my question was not very clear.

I have a very convoluted page-designer that has dozen of work arounds due to some short comings of the page designer. Fx all my headers in a grid changes dynamically - which is a pain in the neck as column and rows does not expand fluidly. So I have a bunch of calculation that figures out how long words can be before it makes page breaks, etc… long story short the accidental white spaces at the end of an input messes all this up.
Fx “Long John Sally” vs "Long John Sally "

So I thought I would ‘clean up’ the inputs. But I can’t figure out if it possible to return the string minus the last whitespaces and not all of them.