Help

Re: Link Assertions, Lookups, and Query Performance in Scripts

766 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Indeed, views provide a very powerful way to scope and optimize access to data. However, they cannot be dynamically altered to achieve what I consider hyper-performant script processes. Here’s an example…

Imagine a table (a) with a view and when a record enters that view, search another table (b) that has 45,000 records in it for a single matching key so that a linkage can be established in (a) to (b).

I’m not an expert in all manners of Airtable scripting, but I think the only way to do this is to iterate across the 45000 records in table (b) to locate the record ID such that the linkage can be updated in table (a). Ironically, searching for discussions about this place me in the commentary mix here. And even then, I’m not sure I expressed the issues succinctly.

Two ideas come to mind when presented with this quandary -

1. Ideally, there should be a searchRecordsAsync() method that uses the internal search capabilities to return a record (or record collection) given a field or record-level query. It would function largely like a dynamic view.

2. Less than ideal, but likely even faster than search would be, a way to create and maintain arbitrary hash indices (like an inverted index) that can be loaded quickly instead of entire tables followed by a filter across all records. Indeed, we need a direct pointer much the way we used to find data in assembly code using registers circa 1982. :winking_face: