Help

Automation Script for parsing a Multi-select field on form submission?

Topic Labels: Automations
Solved
Jump to Solution
1554 3
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Michael_Ahrens
4 - Data Explorer
4 - Data Explorer

Hello, I’m new to Airtable, (trying to help a friend build an efficient solution) and I’m looking for some advice. We have a form with a rather large multi-select field. Users must enter their name, date and select any number of options from the multiselect field.

The information comes into the table in the way you would expect:

But in order for it to work with my friend’s processes (and existing tables) they need a way to break the record up (ideally on form submission) into multiple records:

I found a way to do it with automations. I created an automation for each Option to check to see if that option has been selected, and then create a new record. Unfortunately, this is time consuming and will not scale well.

Can you recommend how to build an automation script (or other solution) that can automatically parse the multi-select field into multiple records, one for each selection?

Thank you,

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
kuovonne
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the Airtable community!

You say that you are open to a scripting solution. What is your experience with writing scripts? While this is would be a straightforward script to write, it might be too much for a someone new to writing scripts, unless you were highly motivate to learn scripting.

If you are not comfortable writing a script (or cannot hire someone to write a script), you could use a system of text fields, formula fields, and automations to create the records.

1. When the form is submitted, have an automation trigger from the form submission and copy the multi-select values to a single line text field.
    2a. Have a formula field that checks the value of the single line text field and extracts the first choice.