Help

Re: Read email from table 2, find same email on table 1 and get the name to fill table 2

Solved
Jump to Solution
1308 0
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Aline_Branco_Wi
5 - Automation Enthusiast
5 - Automation Enthusiast

Hi, there!!
I need an automation to do exactly what the subject of the topic says. We’ll fill the e-mail field in Table 2 from a csv import. Then we need the automation to lookup that email on Table 1, get the Name value corresponding and then fill the field Aluno in table 2.
I found a script in another post that I adapted to what I need but I’m still learning to code so I need help to fix my script. Can anyone pleeeease give me a help?

About the script: I added 2 variables - tho I don’t actually need record ID - but I followed the instructions on the other post.
Variable 1 is recordID and the value is Airtable record ID
Variable 2 is email and the value is email
Both variables are being pulled from Table 2

let config = input.config();
let table1 = base.getTable("Base de Alunos");
let table2 = base.getTable("Entregas Plataforma");

let query = await table1.selectRecordsAsync({fields: table1.fields});
let found = query.records.filter(record => record.getCellValueAsString("Nome") == config.email);

if (found) {
    await table2.updateRecordAsync(config.recordID, {"Aluno": [{id: found[0].id}]})
}
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
ScottWorld
18 - Pluto
18 - Pluto

Welcome to the community, @Aline_Branco_Wilhelm!

I don’t know scripting, so we will have to wait until a scripting expert chimes in here to provide a direct answer to your exact question.

However, there are at least 3 ways of doing this that don’t require scripting at all:

1. As @Russell_Findlay outlined above, simply change your email address field to a linked record field that links to Table 1. Then import the email addresses into that field. This approach has the limitation of your email address needing to be the primary key of Table 1.